NUIM »

Dr A Jamie Saris

Ajamie.Saris@nuim.ie Senior Lecturer in the Department of Anthropology, NUI Maynooth.  He holds advanced degrees in Social-Cultural Anthropology from the University of Chicago (MA and PhD), and he has completed a Postdoctoral Fellowship in Clinically-Relevant Medical Anthropology in the Department of … Continue reading

Dr Alistair Fraser

Dr Alistair Fraser, Department of Geography NUIM Email: Alistair.fraser@nuim.ie Alistair Fraser completed his PhD in Geography at The Ohio State University. His research in Geography asks how people in rural spaces in multiple places deal with globalization. His dissertation research … Continue reading

Dr Jan Rigby

Centre for Health Geoinformatics, NUI Maynooth(jan.rigby@nuim.ie) I am a health geographer with a background in geographical information systems (GIS). I have research and teaching interests in numerous areas of global health where geography, poverty and inequality link to healthcare and … Continue reading

Dr Ronan Foley

Department of Geography, Rhetoric House, NationalUniversity of Ireland, Maynooth, Co. Kildare Tel: 01 708 6024 Email: ronan.foley@nuim.ie  Short Descriptions of Research (1 paragraph) Ronan is a geographer with specialist expertise in GIS and its’ application within health and social care … Continue reading

Dr Thomas Strong

thomas.strong@nuim.ie Lecturer Department of Anthropology National University of Ireland Maynooth I study the symbolism and sociality of the human body. ‘Symbolism’ refers to the way that images of and ideas about the body are used as metaphors for conveying important … Continue reading

Dr Honor Fagan

Honor.Fagan@nuim.ie Dr. G. Honor Fagan is a senior lecturer in the Sociology Department and Dean of Graduate Studies at NUI Maynooth.She has previously researched and lectured in sociology in the US, Northern Ireland, South Africa and Britain. Her particular research … Continue reading

Dr Chandana Mathur

chandana.mathur@nuim.ie EDUCATION Ph.D. in Anthropology, Graduate Faculty of Political and Social Science, New School for Social Research, New York, U.S.A. M.A. in Sociology, University of Delhi, Delhi, India B.A. (Honours) in Economics, St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi, India. RELEVANT … Continue reading

Dr Bernie Grummell

bernie.grummell@nuim.ie Dr Bernie Grummell, is a lecturer with the Departments of Education and Adult & Community Education in NUI Maynooth since 2007. She lectures in research methods, sociology and equality issues on the EdD, MEd and PDE programmes and currently … Continue reading